A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words

Writing

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Quite often we see pictures on different social media outlets. They are funny, awkward, or beautifully portrayed moments but we don’t know what led up to that point in time. Your task for this assignment is to find a picture and write a background or short story for it. It can be a photo you took yourself or found on the internet.

dontlookback

I had to have known it was not going to work out. Nothing ever works out for me. In the last six years I have had five different relationships and they have all ended in the same way (minus a few situations). They all leave me. Never once did I think, “I do not want to be with him.” I guess I am just an optimist always thinking that things will work out. That or I am just stupid. Maybe that is it, I am stupid. Stupid to think that any guy would want to stay. Stupid for crying when they leave, even though I should know that they will. They always will. I can’t wait for the day one of them stays. What do you do if they stay? I don’t even know.

It always starts the same girl meets boy, boy makes girl feel special, girl gush to friends, boy finally asks girl on a date, girl spends hours getting ready, boy kisses girl goodnight, girl waits for text the next day, la-dee-da-dee-da someone pressures the other one into dating them. Things suck, they can’t get over it, they break up.

That isn’t how things started with Lucas. Lucas was my best friends. He was there for me when boyfriends one through five broke my heart and made me cry. Things started differently for us, it all just fell together. We didn’t have an awkward first date. He knew what I wanted and I knew what he wanted. I knew his whole past and he knew mine. This caused problems sometime though. I knew that he used to have feelings for Carrie and it would frustrate me to no end when she would Snapchat him. “Do you have to answer?” I would whine. “She is just a friend, Lucy calm down.” This excuse did not help me to calm down. I used to just be a friend too. I sometimes felt less like his best friend after we put a new label on our relationship: dating, boyfriend and girlfriend, together. It seemed like we were spending less time together now than when we were friends. I was out of control jealous when he would go out with his guy friends without me or say something Carrie sent him was funny. This was so not like me. Lucas thought it was a problem too. He pulled me aside at a party one night, “Lucy, it is okay for you to go mingle. We don’t need to be right next to each other all the time.” I want to blame my response on the cranberry-vodkas I had been drinking but I know it wasn’t. I looked at him tears in my eyes, “If you don’t want me around just break up with me.” He looked at me in shock, “That isn’t what I am saying Lucy. I just need some space.” Wrong answer. Tears started to run down my face as I looked around the room for my friend, Kennedy. Kennedy saw me and comforted me. She warned me that I may be being a little clingy. Over the next few weeks I tried to tone down my jealousy and clingyness. I felt like I was going to explode. Normally I would have talked to Lucas about these feelings in my past relationships but now he was the problem and I had no one to turn to. Thanksgiving rolled around and Lucas asked me if I wanted to celebrate the holiday with his family. I said yes. I already knew most of Lucas’s family from their multiple visits to see him at college. His little sister adored me and his dad and I loved to talk about sports. I had never met his mom and Lucas warned me she may come of as mean but she was really a nice lady. Ya right! Lucas and I got to his house and his mom and sister met us at the door. “I am so glad you could bring your ‘friend’ home, Lucas,” his mom smiled. “Did you have no where else to go for Thanksgiving this year?” she asked me. I looked at her with a shocked expression, I tried to hid it. Lucas swept in and explained that I lived far away and that he really wanted me to come with him. Things got much worse hours before Thanksgiving dinner was supposed to start. “Lucas,” his mom yelled from the other room, “I hope you don’t mind I invited Amanda and her family over for dinner.” Amanda is Lucas’s high-school ex girlfriend. They dated for five years. I just about lost it. Lucas said that was fine. Things just kept getting worse; at dinner I got stuck at the kids table with Lucas’s middle school cousins and his little sister but Amanda got a seat right next to Lucas at the big table. I smiled and tried to be polite. After dinner, I pulled Lucas aside and asked if we could go for a walk. He agreed. As we walked I asked if his mom even knew that we were dating. He told me that she didn’t. I was really hurt by this and told him that I felt like he didn’t even want to be dating me. He explained that he did but was really busy with school and he wasn’t sure where he would be going to school next year. I started crying knowing that a break up was coming. We sat down on some stairs leading to a bridge. “Do you want to break up with me?” I asked. He sighed, “Everything is so complicated. I care about you so much Lucy your my best friend but…” “Just leave!” I interrupted him, “I don’t want to hear your excuses. Just leave me like everyone else does.” “But Lucy,” he said his voice cracking. I looked away. He stood up and started walking away from me. I watched him walk away. How could this end? I thought Lucas would be in my life forever. “Turn back! Stop! Come back!” I screamed in my head. Lucas looked back at me and ran back. “I am sorry Lucy,” he said as he made his way back to me, “I am not going to leave.”

 

What do you do if they stay? I guess I will find out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

